Audio Minds - Digital Audio Recording Forum        WDAW.com
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: art with a line6 ux1  (Read 2152 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
harpo111
TapeOp
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 366


View Profile WWW
« on: January 22, 2010, 08:32:53 AM »

have a line6 ux1 studio input device..i like it. It is quiet and works well with the included software. Currently using a Beringer mixer for phantom for my condenser. I know the Art tube pre is relatively cheap...and it has phantom...any thoughs on getting one of those and taking mixer completely out of the picture. If works...only need ux1 and pre for pretty much everything.
Still using Mackie Tracktion...no complaints. Am thinking about upgrading...have looked at Protool m powered 8, Reaper, etc...but right now the Tracktion seems to be working. (new version of n-track just came out...no reviews yet)...
anyhows...have a open C capoed up version of "In the Bleak Midwinter" i am fixing to record.....post when through...
k
Logged

www.kirkwhitaker.com is up and running...drop on by

"He spoke with the wisdom that can only come from experience, like 
a guy who went blind because he looked at a solar eclipse without one 
of those boxes with a pinhole in it and now goes around the country 
speaking at high schools about
Mac
Guest
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2010, 09:18:22 AM »

...any thoughs on getting one of those and taking mixer completely out of the picture.

I've done exactly that. 

Later on, I replaced the Art tube with a higher end unit, but I gotta say that there was very little difference to be heard between the two considering the cost differential.  Art toob is cool.

And it gives you Mic input, Phantom Mic input or Instrument/Line Input as well. 

Get two for stereo, or the single unit with two channels on it. 


--Mac
Logged
harpo111
TapeOp
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 366


View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: January 22, 2010, 10:13:00 AM »

prob get one...the ux1 has stereo in's..so if i did need to do that i could use mixer..but doubt i would anytime soon..
Have been toying with penny whistle some too...love the sound of it...it and acoustic guitar ought to made a good combo for that song...
Logged

www.kirkwhitaker.com is up and running...drop on by

"He spoke with the wisdom that can only come from experience, like 
a guy who went blind because he looked at a solar eclipse without one 
of those boxes with a pinhole in it and now goes around the country 
speaking at high schools about
gtr4Him
Producer
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2571



View Profile
« Reply #3 on: January 23, 2010, 04:18:40 PM »

That lowly ART Toob pre is GREAT for DI'ing bass. It's worth the 40 bucks for that alone IMO. You can dial in enough gain to get some 'oomph' on bass tracks. At least it works well with my POS 150 dollah Squier P-Bass Special.

TG
Logged

People accuse me of being apathetic...

Meh... whatever...
pete
Guest
« Reply #4 on: January 24, 2010, 05:26:55 PM »

I might add that replacing the stock tube in it improved the one I have noticeably.

I used it for a long time as a bass preamp.  Now it stays in the gig bag to work as one of the nicest DI boxes around.
Logged
sinbad
TapeOp
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 267


View Profile WWW
« Reply #5 on: January 25, 2010, 11:51:10 AM »

Can you explain the difference between a DI and a preamp? If a preamp can work as a DI are they one and the same?
Not playing live I have not encountered the need for either one, although I use a preamp sometimes in the recording input for effect.
Logged

Songs are the safety valves of the soul.
TimOBrien
TapeOp
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 154


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: January 25, 2010, 02:24:03 PM »

pete, A DI takes a high-impedance instrument signal and makes it line-level.
A pre-amp can have a high-impedance mode but you have to look at the specs.
If it has an "Instrument input" jack or combo input jack, you're in.
Otherwise a pre-amp is looking for a low-impedance mic-level signal.
Logged
harpo111
TapeOp
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 366


View Profile WWW
« Reply #7 on: January 25, 2010, 04:38:24 PM »

UPDATE: guy i play with at church has one of the bigger art tube pre's and has no use for it...he says use it..if you like it i'll sell it to you at a good price. I am thinking..ok..he has a presonus usb thing with phantom...so he isn't using it...
sounds like a promising arrangement...we shall see... Happy

k
Logged

www.kirkwhitaker.com is up and running...drop on by

"He spoke with the wisdom that can only come from experience, like 
a guy who went blind because he looked at a solar eclipse without one 
of those boxes with a pinhole in it and now goes around the country 
speaking at high schools about
pete
Guest
« Reply #8 on: January 25, 2010, 05:56:47 PM »

The ART has high impedance in and you can turn down the gain to line level out or add gain if needed.  In this mode it is a superb DI.

If not, I've been using it that way for years for live sound and it has served well, so don't tell it that it shouldn't work!
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.13 | SMF © 2006-2011, Simple Machines LLC

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS! Dilber MC Theme by HarzeM